This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

Problems with AsNoTracking() in the Logic with unit tests.

Nov 24, 2014 at 6:35 PM
Hi, I'm pretty new to Effort and for the most part I like this tool.

I stumbled on this tool when I was researching a way to unit test my linq queries with entity framework 6 in Visual Studio 2013. For my work we started a new project and with this project I wanted to setup the automated tests propperly, because with older projects this was never done and it lead to major problems. In particular with the database queries.

So Effort gave me a very simple method for testing my linq queries. The Get methods perform flawlessly, however deleting and updating is giving me problems. I have the following repository:
public class FooRepository : IFooRepository
{
   private readonly FooEntities dbContext;

public FooRepository(FooEntities context)
   {
      this.dbContext = context;
   }

public async Task<Foo> GetAsync(int key)
   {
      var result = await this.dbContext.Foos
                  .AsNoTracking()
                  .SingleOrDefaultAsync(t => t.ID == key);
      return result;
   }

// .... more code

public void Delete(Foo entity)
   {
      this.dbContext.Foos.Attach(entity);
      this.dbContext.Entry(entity).State = EntityState.Deleted;
   }
}
I call SaveChanges on the database context from a UnitOfWork instance. On this repository I am running the following unit test:
[TestClass]
public class FooRepositoryTests
{
   private FooEntities context;

[TestInitialize]
   public void TestInitialize()
   {
      var connection = Effort.EntityConnectionFactory.CreateTransient("name=FooEntities");
      this.context = new FooEntities(connection);
      this.context.Configuration.AutoDetectChangesEnabled = false;
      this.context.Configuration.LazyLoadingEnabled = false;
      this.context.Configuration.ProxyCreationEnabled = false;
      this.context.Configuration.ValidateOnSaveEnabled = false;